Kentucky’s Top Civil & Criminal Litigation Attorneys

Kentucky’s Top Civil & Criminal Litigation Attorneys

Coy, Gilbert, Shepherd & Wilson has been serving the needs of clients in Madison County, Central, and Eastern Kentucky since 1969. We are a well-established and respected law firm. Our main office is the former residence of Nathan B. Deatherage, Jr., a four term Sheriff of Madison County. This main office is located at 212 North Second Street in Richmond, Kentucky. The firm also maintains an office in Beattyville, Kentucky at 203 Main Street.

The firm was founded by Charles R. Coy and his brother, John M. Coy in 1969. Then, in 1981, the Coys were joined in the practice by James T. Gilbert and his brother, Jerry W. Gilbert. John Coy was subsequently elected judge and later served for many years as Chairman of the Kentucky Parole Board. For many years, the firm was known as Coy, Gilbert & Gilbert.

Mark A. Shepherd joined the firm in 1991 and, following Charles Coy’s retirement, Jason S. Wilson joined in 2004. Robert L. Russell, former Madison County Attorney (1986-1999) is of counsel. Beverly Brewer joined in 2017. Collectively, the lawyers at Coy, Gilbert, Shepherd & Wilson have over 150 years of experience helping people, a legacy that continues today.

Coy, Gilbert, Shepherd & Wilson. Legal experience you can trust!